More on Mudras

More on Mudras

Hatha Yoga Pradipika
– Mudra means “gesture or attitude”. Mudras can be used to guide the flow of energy within us.
Mahamudra: Press the heel of the left foot to the right side of the perineum, and stretch out the right foot and hold it with both hands.
Mahabandha: The heel of the left foot is pressed to the perineum, at the same time put the right foot on the left thigh.
Mahavedha: here you perform the Mahabandha and practice Uddiyana Kumbhaka (create negative pressure in the body and pull in the belly button).
Khecari: Tongue is led backwards down the throat, the most important mudra.
Uddiyanabandha: you create a negative pressure in the body. Uddiyanabanda can then be followed with Nauli, where the Rectoralis muscles are flexed out and rotated in a circle.
Mulabandha: with the left heel (pushing against it), pull the yoni together, with the suture forcefully pressing the umbilicus to the spine. With the right ankle against the penis (pushing), one executes a firm Bandha. The age eliminating mudra is called Mulabandha, or “rooting”, root closure “.
Jalandharabandha: Chin closure
Viparitakarani: can be called “half shoulder stand”. The pelvis is slightly tilted, and the back is supported by the hands on the lower back.

Vajroli: you support yourself with both hands on the ground and bring your feet up, the head holds you in the air

Sahajoli: is a method of sublimating Sexual Energy.
Amaroli: is to drink your own urine.
Sakticalana: is Nauli, also called Laulika. After creating Uddiyana (negative pressure) in the body, Nauli is practiced. The abdominal muscles are moved in a circle, both left and right.
Khecari is a meditation technique as well as a mudra.
Sambhavi Mudra: fix the view of the Anja Chakra without blinking; you can see light and, or different colors, or a black hole, or a spiral.

Gheranda Samhita, Chapter 3 – MUDRA
25 mudras
1. Mahamudra: also called “rooting, root closure and the great seal”, where the heel of the left foot is pressed against the anus root (the buttocks), the right leg is stretched out, one holds with hands toes. The chin is lowered after filling with puraka (air) and looks between the eyebrows. Mulabandha + Jalamdhara
2. Nabhomudra: “the seal of space”, one has the tongue upwards in an immovable position and constantly holds the air.
3. Uddiyana means “flying up” in Sanskrit. One stands slightly forward with his hands on his knees, then exhales, followed by a “gasp”, without actually inhaling air. This stretches the belly above the navel to the back. This action has the positive effect that all internal organs (which are otherwise pulled down by gravity every day) are lifted upwards and at the same time massaged. This bandha, once learned, can be practiced at any age.
4. Jalamdhara: means chin closure. You contract your throat and lower your chin to your chest.
5. Mulabandha: also called “root fixation, root closure”. Here the heel of the left foot is pressed against the anus root (the buttocks).
6. Mahabandha: also called “root fixation, root closure”, where the heel of the left foot is pressed against the anus root (the buttocks), the right leg. Unlike Mahamudra, the leg is also hammered and the right foot is placed under the left. You sit on your feet, which lie on top of each other.
The genitals (yoni) are pulled together and you hold your breath. With Jalamdhara with lowered chin. Mahabandha is called the “great lock”.
7. Mahavedha: Mahabandha + Uddiyana + Kumbhaka
8. Khecari: one lets the tongue gradually penetrate into the palate. Different techniques are described to make this possible at all because this is inherently impossible.
9. Viparitakarani: Shoulderstand Variation, whereby one does not come so high with the feet, the hands support the lower back (looks completely different in the picture of Peter Thomi’s Gherandasamitha – like a headstand on the forehead.)
10. Yonimudra: Sit in Siddhasana and hold the ears, eyes, nose, and mouth with your thumbs, index, middle and ring fingers, etc.

11. Vajroli: like in Cobra with legs bent.

12. Sakticalani: bring up the Shakti
(wearing a special cloth over the Manipura Chakra)

13. Tadagi: lying, sucking the belly completely (see picture on the right).
14. Manduki: The tongue is pulled along the palate, the tongue lies on the salivary gland
15. Sambhavi Mudra: you look at a black dot
16. Pancadharana
17. Adhodharana or Parthivadharana
18. Ambhasadharana
19. Vaisvanaradharana
20. Vayavadharana
21. Nabhodharana
22. Asvini: pull the anus root together and release
23. Pasini
24. Kaki: Roll tongue together and suck in air
25. Matangi or Matangini: draw in water through the mouth and blow out of the nose
26. Bhjuamgini or Bhujagi: Swallow air and focus on the Muladhara root.

ByKim Beinke

I am a certified Yoga teacher with over 500 hours of Yoga training with my certification from the Paracelsus Heilpraktiker Schule in Gießen, Germany. My additional certification from the German Red Cross with 84 Yoga hours of training specializes in Yoga for seniors.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.